Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Houses & Homes

Hi there everyone,

I have decided that my new topic after Christmas for my mixed rec/year1 class will be houses/homes under the title 'building blocks'.

Has anybody planned for this topic previously and could give me any tips/ideas please? This is my first year of these year groups.

I am going to include things like the stories Goldilocks & 3 bears, going on a bear hunt etc and have viewed previous threads along these lines and am also a little ok with ideas for science and materials and their properties, but generally on the whole anything would be appreciated!

Cheers

Lisa :)

this is the same topic i am doing next term. we tend the emphasise on trational tales this term, with castles, 3 little pigs house etc and look at jack and the bean stalk, growing things in the garden etc.

we look at different types of housing we live in, look at materials etc

thats about as far as i have got with my planning so far.

Fairy tale homes---castles etc.

Animal homes.

3 little pigs is not a good choice of you have a large proportion of Muslim children and you may need to be sensitive if you have any at all.

OOPs never thought of that shows how teaching in a mono-cultural area affects your thinking :o

• 3 weeks later...

Hi thanks - yes I found that only yesterday and printed it off to help with some of my planning this weekend! It's very good cheers though, they have the other topics in detail too.

I found the link through a previous thread about goldilocks 3 bears or materials I think that mentioned the norfolk planning site. Anyway it's all out there somewhere!

L x