Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Stuggling (nearly) Fsu

I'm new to my school as one of 2 reception teachers, and for the past few years the fs has really stuggled. There's been a complete change-over of staff in the last 2 years, and it was decided to integrate fs1 and fs2 to make a foundation stage unit.

Some of the staff who were here last year have been very against it, and now the fs1 teacher has come out and said that she doesn't want to integrate the 3 classes - even though this is what has been agreed with the head/governor/advisors involvement.

I'm just wondering if anyone else has come up against similar difficulties and how they overcame them. I can't see a way forward with this, even though I can see that other fsu's are working really well. How did you do it?!!

Anyone able to share?

Well my experience, is......

We set up the FSU in September 2006, it's hard work initially, and our early years advisor said give it two years before your settled, and things are running smoothly.

We have had difficulties, some staff have found the change very hard to deal with, and it's a big open space, so noise levels, being outdoors, etc have been hard to deal with for some.

On the plus side, it's a far more flexible side of working. Although we don't break with the rest of the school, we work well as a team. The children can access far more. The children settled into Reception from Day 1, no tears at all.

The children have integrated really well, and the Reception are great support for Nursery, especially those young 3 year olds who have tears.

I find it a much better way to work, and you really get to know your children and what interests them. You have far more time to make observations, and we all tell staff of any child developments, mis-behaviour, what's worked well in child initiated play etc