Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Deferred Entry Into Reception

I have recently been approached by a parent who is considering deferring her child's entry into Reception. The child has a December birthday and would therefore usually enter reception the following September in our county. I have had no experience of deferred entry but feel it may be appropriate for this child........ What have your experiencs been? I would like to hear both positives and negatives before I get back to the parent!

Thanks

She needs to speak to the school, unfortunately sometimes this is not possible--not because the school want to be difficult but because they cant keep places open and unfilled, especialy if it is an oversubscribed school with a waiting list. This was the situation in the last school I worked in.

The mother needs to think about why she wants this deferrement. It is always easier for a child to settle at the same time as their peers and if staying in nursery/preschool means the child is separated from his/her friends, that can be difficult too. Socially, I would recomend that this does not happen!

If the school does not provide what the mother wants for her child, perhaps she needs to thinking about an alternative school rather than deferring entry?

I have had two children who have had deferred entry. One was because of SEN and the child has continued through the school a year behind and will hopefully transfer to comprehensive school a year behind and remain in the education system an additional year.

The other child's parents deferred entry and this child skipped reception year and went directly into Y1 missing out valuable experiences.

I would advise that she thinks carefully about this before deciding and considers whether the child will miss valuable time in school (not to say that other settings dont offer valuable experiences)