Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help! Ofsted Are Coming.

Hi every body. This is my second request in 1 week!

we have just heard that OFSTED are coming on Wenesday and Thursday and I feel in a bit of a flap. I am new to reception having been teaching Year 2 for ages so things are a little strange. There are no other teachers in school with Reception experience or knowledge of Foundation Stage so I feel rather isolated. I have read lots about how Foundation Stage should operate but i am still getting my head around the how. Anyway next week my focus should be My Body. Does anybody have any tried and tested ideas that I could use. What do I need to make sure the inspectors see? Also the inspector asked our head that she would want to know about what on entry assesments / baseline assesments we do? I was understanding that this was no longer necessary and that we should be using the profile to assess etc.. can anyone put me straight. I have assessed children's number recognition and counting skills and knowledge of letter sounds.

Hope you can reassure me and stop me panicking! Thanks. :)

You are on the right track. Look at the info that came up from nursery/ pre-school and see what can be transferred onto the profile straightaway. (In my case none because they only recorded yellow and blue stepping stones :o ). Over the first half term we then look at the first three ELGs for our baseline (esp for PSED, CLL and MD). For some children you may find that they can do more than this e.g. in the strand about using numbers as labels and for counting, in which case that shoulod also be recorded. Because baseline is about what the children can do before we teach them anything I do specifically assess phonic knowledge, letter recognition, number recognition, counting, ability to write their own name and rhyme awareness as soon as I can.