Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Literacy Autumn Term -reception

I am new to Reception having been Y2 teacher for years. I am struggling with literacy and was wondering what your Adult initiated activities look like at this time of year. I just need an idea of the sorts of tasks /activities that you might be doing. I have found loads of interesting stuff on this site. Hope you can help! We are doing 'Ourselves and Our Bodies for the remainder of this half term does anyone have good ideas of Big books? Thanks

Hi Fliss and welcome

you do sound as if you may be trying to be very formal?

I would be concentrating on naming body parts and singing, "heads, shoulders, kness and toes". You could paint pictures and label them and perhaps make funny bones pictures. You could also do some simple senses work.

Not sure about specific texts but I always like "Elmer" as a start for this topic and there is a book about people being special ----not sure of the name ofhand and it may not be a big book.

You could try looking at some of the planning on hamiltontrust.org.uk to get ideas of early reception year work.

You could be getting the children to paint themselves and talk about their faces and how they are the same/different. Naming body parts and using lots ofwords for how the children move, jumping , running, crawling etc. You could make a big book about the children, pictures of families, them as babies and scribe for the children things they would like to say. Put this in your book area for the children to refer to and 'read' together. Use a rhyme like 'heads shoulders knees and toes and make a very large rhyme card from this that the children can'read/sing' to each other. This can go on a display table or in your book area. Display books on the theme for the chidlren to refer to.