Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Schemes For Foundation Stage

Hi Everyone,

I am just beginning the process of searching for new published schemes for literacy and numeracy. Our foundation stage needs a complete overhaul as things have changed very little since the introduction to the NNS and NLS and the FS document. If anyone has used any good schemes that they could recommend we are looking for both literacy and numeracy. We would also be interested in using books that are topic based and include the 6 areas of learning. If anyone could help I would really appreciate it as I need to get sample copies now to get approval and funding!

Thanks so much

Gaynor

Hi there. I have just discovered the Abacus maths scheme which I accessed through Hamilton Trust. I adapt it to my class but it makes sure you cover everything. They also do a literacy scheme that looks very good, but I haven't used it as it would mean buying in more books (and I daren't ask for any more money!)

I have also found the Scholastic Topic books useful - Ourselves, Toys, Homes, Journeys etc.

Hope that's slightly helpful!

Follow Jolly Phonics for literacy - 100% recommended. Use it for intensive phonic input in the initial term and use the tremendous results after for inredible independent and writing work. ignore the NLS - very flawed in its approach to the most effective methods of teaching reading. Have been reading up on research and there's so much out there we don't know - and it seems the government are ignoring! I was quite cross when I found out. The web site of the Reading Reform Foundation is a good starting point. Good luck!

Hi Jasmine -

Thanks for that - good to hear from you, you always have interesting things to say on phonics topics! :)

Here's a link to the Reading Reform Forum for anyone who wants to try it out.

Hi Heyjude - good to hear from you too! I nearly missed your post which got drowned out by all the weather last night! :D

Regards, Steve.