Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ofsted

We've has the call today. This is my PPA time!

they are coming on Tuesday and Wednesday.

I am a reception class teacher with 29 children. our topic is transport and our theme this week for that week will be boats.

I am now having a mad panic of lots of things to do in each area. This is what i've got so far.

CLL:

Focused writing: desert island message in a bottle

Reading: selction of boat themed books. does anyone know a good desert island story to set the theme for the writing?

Explore writing: passports, tickets, holiday bookings

Maths

boat addditon and subtraction

KUW

floating and sinking

boat making e.g foils, plastercine

Physical

Captains coming games, row your boat

PSE

water safety

Jesus appearing to the fishermen

Creative

bubble printing.

If anyone has any great ideas i would be really greatful. Thanks a lot

Natasha

I am also concerned that as the children as so close to year one they may want to see more formal lessons. am I right to be worried?

Maths - shape boats - using selected shapes and introducing shape names - Triangle sails, cylinder funnels, circle port holes etc

CLL - Mr Gumpy's outing - last week we used the story and small world props to retell it, then on the Friday, we brought an inflatable dinghy and told the story using all the children (exept 2 who wanted to be the audience) to put on a Mr Gumpy's show (PHY) - lots of lovely extension work followed on the writing table, and craft area - making 'junk' boats from different materials - plastic, polystyrene, wood, metal - (KUW) floating sinking how many small world figures would fit into our boat before it sank.

Hope this helps

....and good luck too.

Hi Natasha

A really nice desert island story is "A friend for little bear". Here is a link to Amazon which gives a brief outline of the story. It is a lovely one for PSED.

Linda