Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Really Fed Up!

Guest flutter

Guest flutter

Hi All,

I have just spent four and a half years putting my life on hold while i completed a degree and GTP year to enable me to be a Foundation Stage teacher (having worked with a variety of age groups for 27 years - last 6 as NNEB in reception). I was selected for primary pool, which I was really pleased about but still have no job for September!

I have just been recommended for QTS after a c.... GTP year working with teachers who know little of FS practice.

I know one will come up but i am feeling very disillusioned at the moment. Confidence being drained slowly away.

It is so reassuring to belong to this forum and know that other people out there agree with the things that I believe are also important for this age group.

I agree with Hali, you will get the job you deserve, I do believe that headteachers and Governers are really beginning to understand the importance and benefits of people who are really grounded and knowledgable about the Early Years.

Have a rest now because once you do get that job........................................you'll be on here telling us how happy but exhausted you are :o

Peggy

I know of 2 people who are in the same situation as you.

1 of them has just been offered a job in a school that is just perfect. She thought it would never come, and is now over the moon.

Hang in there - all your good work will pay off x

Guest flutter

Thank you all for your kind comments.

I know that I will just have to wait for the right job. The waiting is going to be hard.

My present headteacher says that I should have experience of KS1 in my NQT year ( 10 days in KS1 during GTP) but I know that my knowledge, interest and my heart are FS based. I bet he wouldn't tell a GTP student in KS1 that she should have KS2 experience in the NQT year.

Do you agree with him? Do you think this this IS what I should do?

Would like to hear your comments.

Thank you all