Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Setting Up A Nursery

Help please. I am in my second year of teaching (reception) and have become increasingly more disillusioned with early years teaching in schools (both private and state). I feel that many schools do not value the importance of play and still see it as something they do after 'work'. I am therfore increasingly more interested in setting up my own nursery (small scale) but have no ideas of the legal and financial aspects. Is there anybody out there who could suggest possible contacts, give ideas and share any experiences they have had with their own nursery?

many thanks :o

Hi mjsilcock -

welcome to the forum and thanks for posting!

I'm sure people will have lots of suggestions for you. I would say it's not a trivial exercise - you'll need to do a lot of thinking first. Just to kick you off, there was a conversation way back in the early days of this forum - with a book recommendation you might find useful as well. You can find it by clicking here.

Let's see what else comes up from the members here now. When that last conversation happened there were only about 5 members, and one of them was my dog Ellie... :o

Best wishes,

Steve.

Gosh, I wish you lived in Kent - I've been thinking exactly the same thing and would love to set up a nursery. I guess I'll be loking at the book and thread that Steve recommended too!!

Thanks for getting me thinking about something positive again (after writing up observations/assessments into my profiles all evening again!)

Dianne xxx :)

Hi Mjsilcock,

I set up my own nursery five years ago now, and haven't regretted it (I too was a primary teacher beforehand). The thing I would say is that I spend more time doing this job than I would if I were back in school. That said, my nursery is situated in three rooms at the side of my house, so when I am doing nursery stuff at the weekends and evenings, I am at least on homeground!