Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Themed Activities

Hello,

I'm a teacher in a school nursery and I've just been observed and told that all my activities should be linked or 'themed' to a topic. Apparently pretty much everything I set out for the day should be tied in with the topic (minibeasts this half term) because, I was told, this allows for 'layers of learning'. However, I think it's pretty much impossible to theme everything, everyday and I also think that it makes for a pretty topid learning environment especially when a topic lasts for a half term - sometimes up to 7 weeks long!!!!

I'd really appreciate some feedback on what everyone else does - I have to face the head on monday with some arguments as to why this isn't my approach.

thanks!!!

Hi

We do our topics over a period of two weeks, we do try and link the other activities into the topic as much as possible, for example for minibeasts we put cooked spaghetti in water in the water tray to represent worms, painting ladybirds, making collages of minibeasts, talking about topic at circle time, stories connected with topic, sequence sheets of stories, puzzles connected to topic, homecorner adapted to connect to topic etc........

Doing it over a two week period we don't usually run out of ideas.

Not sure if this helps or not!

I agree with you. Often with topics it's easy to get into the habit of just providing an activity because it's the best link you could get to the theme, rather than an activity that will extend the children.

E.g. I've just taken over as the manager of a nursery and 1 room are really struggling to get their head around planning. In the past they've always done topics. This week they're doing Nursery Rhymes. The children are all gluing black bits of crepe paper (cut out by the staff), onto paper spiders (drawn by the staff). The children are all fab at gluing, and haven't learnt a single thing! - but "hey" - it linked to the topic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!