Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Interviewing For New Staff

Hi

I have arranged to do some interviews for new staff. I have never done this before and wondered if you had any advice. I thought i had seen this somewhere before on the forum but i don't seem to be able to find it.

You can find the article here, fourth heading down.

interview article

Here are questions I recently used for Interviews ( some questions are relevant to a previsit where the applicant is observed)

Then I give applicants a post interview questionairre to monitor equal opps etc.

Good luck, let us know how you get on. :D

Peggy

INTERVIEW_QUESTIONS.doc

POST_INTERVIEW_QUESTIONAIRRE.doc

We also just going through staff selection and the interview process.

thanks Peggy, the interview questions where helpful.

we were debating whether to include a mornings session as part of our inteview process (i.e. ask the prospective member of staff to spend the morning in the session) but wondered what other settings do?

We asked our applicants to come in for an hour before interview to play / interact with staff and children.

Hourly visits enabled us to do more than one applicant in a morning ( not more than one person "playing" at the same time).

It was useful to get staff's opinions on applicants ( helped staff feel that they were involved in the recruitment process - and taught them how difficult it is to judge someone in such a short amount of time :o )

The only set back was that myself and manager were interviewing whilst another applicant was "playing", therefore we were unable to observe them. The applicant is shown around the setting, then given a specific area to play in ( they are informed of this area when sent their interview appointment). They are not asked to prepare an activity ( how could they without knowing our children :( ) However one applicant did plan a very structured "creative" activity, bringing resources with her.