Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Conservation Of Number Activities Help!

I have a group of children who are having problems with conservation of number. I know this sounds formal!!! and probably very stiff. However, this is their next progressive step. I am just beginning my planning and need any creative, practical, activities that will help their development in this particular area. My TA is working with them each day on this particular aspect of development and I'm running out of good ideas so HELP!!! :o

Hi Emmai, Do you have access to the computer/internet at school/nursery? If you have then this might help children to visualise numbers. Try the following websites for ideas:

www.amblesideprimary.com

www.underfives.co.uk

www.interactive-resources.co.uk (lots of free evaluation materials)

www.funwithspot.com

www.firstschoolyears.com

www.ictgames.com

Hope you find some inspiration!

Hi Emma, Im not sure if I really spend a lot of time specifically teaching this, but build it in to counting activities by asking questions like 'if we start counting here, how many will there be?' (followed by 'how do you know?') or 'can we start counting anywhere'?

Sometimes ill gather a set of beakers (any object will do but they stack in differnt ways so you can make many arrrnagents) and put say 10 (or 5) out on a table, and ask the chidlren how many there are. then Ill move them into a diferent arrnagment (whilst the children are looking) and ask again. I fnd that the children soon get this, and those that dont are usually ther less confident counters.