Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Head Wants Reception To Have More Structure

Hi -

This is a post originally from Crestacat who posted at the end of a long topic called 'Reception - the Best Way Forward'. I felt that it needed its own space, so I've moved it here, hopefully re-creating the title meaningfully... :o

HELLO EVERYONE.i KNOW THIS IS AN OLD TOPIC BUT i NEED SOME HELP.i AM A NURSERY TEACHER WHO IS NOW RESPONSIBLE FOR ORGANISING THE rECEPTION CLASS DAY ,AS EY COORDINATOR.i HAVENT TAUGHT SPECIFICALLY IN RECEPTION ALTHOUGH WE WERE LAST YEAR AN EY UNIT.oTHER SCHOOLS VISITED TO OBSERVE OUR UNIT .HOWEVER OUR NEW HEAD SAYS THERE SHOULD BE MORE STRUCTURE IN RECEPTION AND EY UNITS ARE ONLY RIGHT FOR CHILDREN WHO ARE MEETING TARGETS SUCCESSFULLY.SO WE HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT NURSERY AND RECEPTION MUST FUNCTION AS SEPARATE STAGES I FEEL THIS IS A STEP BACKWARDS AND NEED SOME HELP WITH PRODUCING A TIMETABLE WHICH STILL ALLOWS FOR CHILD CENTERED LEARNING .ANY COMMENTS PLEASE 

Hi Crestacat,

I shall have to think about this one & get back to you but my first reaction is to agree with you.

There are lots of other people who I think will also respond to you in a similar vein, but it seems to be very quiet out there at the moment.

Susan

• 2 weeks later...