Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Updating Policies

I have been looking through the policies at my setting and seen that most of them haven't been updated since the setting opened 2 years ago. Every other place I have worked in have updated them anually and in some instances, the staff have been consulted on them and their content.

I would like to update them but am unsure as to where I would find new legislation that needs to be covered as I'm new to all this! I have looked at other policy posts here and have realised that we don't have half of the ones that others have! So I'm going to be a busy bee sorting them all out!

Just a couple of questions....

1. Where can I find new legislation relevant to policies?

2. Do I need to keep a separate file for policies? Ours are currently in with our National Standards folder.

3. What, generally should I include in a Health and Safety Policy?

4. Would it be worth consulting with the staff as to the content of policies, even though most of them are students and some staff aren't really interested in policy writing ('That's the manager's job')? :o

I would be really grateful for any suggestions! Thanks!

Sorry. One more!

As a pre-school setting, should we consider having a policy about children transferring from us to school? If so, what kind of information should it include?

Thanks!

Have you come across the long list that someone made in a post?

I used to review my main ones ( some are statutary requirements as stated in the standards) every time I sent them out to new parents, making slight adjustments, but this didn't cover all of them. I have about 20 at present, but not all are given to parents. I have them in a seperate file but I don't see why they can't be in a file with standards.