Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

10 Minute Phonic Lesson For Interview

I have been invited for an interview for a nursery teacher vacancy, and I have to teach a 10 minute phonic lesson to reception aged children. The school are hoping to create a foundation stage unit for September, so the job is for both age groups. I would be very grateful for any ideas, as I have been working with nursery children for the last 3 years and am unsure at what level reception chidlren are at. Looking at the foundation stage curriculum, the early learning goal talks about naming letters where as isn't synthetic phonics now saying that the children shouldn't be taught the letter names along side the sounds they make? Any advice/suggestions gratefully recieved.

Thankyou in advancexxx

Do you have a copy of the playing with sounds file there should be some ideas in there to help you.

Good luck

I use a puppet to introduce the sound and he picks up things that begin with wrong sound

I also use him for kim's game he takes different things away

I also use a toy train as an introduction and sing the alphabet train came over the hill ............what sound will it bring today sung to thr ruuaway train tune

playing with sounds good

:o

You could play "full circle" with the children where they have to change one sound in a word to create a new one. (Can't recall whether this appears in playing with sounds or not, but it does appear in the PIPs book). The children hold letter cards and come out to the front to make the new word.

Good luck whatever you decide to do :D

I've a suggesstion for you.

1. Collect some items from around the classroom in a non see through bag eg. dog, cat, hen, pig, cow, hat , pencil, ruler , snake, ladybird etc..

2. Collect letter sound cards to match the items in the bag

3. Before you put the letter sound cards down on the floor ask the childern to say the sounds.

4. Pass the bag round the group