Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Writing Please Help!

Hi everyone, this is my first time on here and I really need some help. We had OFSTED a couple of weeks a go and the school needs to concentrate on reading and writing through KS1. (Big time!!) Unfortunately being in foundation, and the first to have these children some staff are laying the blame. Some don't agree with the foundation stage curriculm, and have made it very aware they think it is this that has contributed to a decline in results. I would love to know how other people are taeching writing, as in my head I want it to be purposeful, and fun. It seems that management in our school and the threat of OFSTED coming back next year, they want to see evidence of every child writing every day. I believe this could be achived on some levels, but I think they have forgotten, we are delivering a whole curriculm. It would be really useful to see where your children are in writing, as the other day a member of staff mentioned that they will have their work cut out yet again when reception comes upto them. this was very upsetting to me, as this particular child is easily working at point 8, and once his writing is encouraged to become smaller, and letters formed correctly, he could easily be a nine! He is writing stories independently, and putting them into books. Perhaps my expectations are too low. I am a recently qualified teacher, willing to learn. Please help, I don't want to do these children a dis-service. Sorry about my writting by the way, I just really need to get this off my chest quickly!!!!

Thanks woodyfreak x :o

Hi Woodyfreak and welcome!

Please dont despair, sounds like you know what you are about and are going through a rough patch after Ofsted. Do remember that your school would fail if it were not delivering the foundation stage curriulum adequately, although perhaps it other members of the staff that need to remember that one!

Are you the only reception teacher?