Jump to content
Home
Forum
Join Us
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Sarah


hicki27
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hi, I have a number of parents who have split and who both would like to access their child's tapestry account. I have added both parents no problems but have been asked a question by one dad. Is there any way of hiding the parent comments from the other parent? Not come across this before so any help would be appreciated! Thanks x

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi hicki27,

Thank you for your question!

This is something we get asked about quite a lot, so I am sure that other forum users will find this rather useful.

We absolutely understand that sometimes providers find themselves in a situation where the parents of a child are estranged and do not communicate effectively. This can impact negatively on a child’s Tapestry journal. As providers are aware, unless there is a legal ruling excluding one or other parent they cannot treat parents differently. There is a statutory requirement (SF p10,1.10) for the child’s key person to engage and support parents and/or carers in guiding their child’s development at home.

With the new relative user permissions tab, accessible via your Tapestry Control Panel, you now have the ability to disable relative comments on observations that are visible to all relatives linked to the child's profile. This would prevent any ‘active’ parents linked to the child’s account from being able to add comments. They would still be able to view the key person’s/staff member's observations and comments on their child’s journal.

We have also added the ability to disable relative access to other linked relatives' observations. This means that if a child is linked to more than one relative, these would not be able to see each other's observations altogether. This is also found on control panel > user permissions > relatives > view other relative's observations. Please be reminded that you can set up different permissions for different users, so the permissions do not need to be applied to all of the users in the account.

In the meantime, if this is a problem could make both parents “Inactive”/delete them – therefore they would not be linked to the child’s journal and receive updates. If you choose to do this you would be able to continue adding to the child’s journal in the setting, you'd just have to make a separate arrangement for parents to come in individually to view the journal and add their comments or photographs with the key person (thereby ensuring that all additions to the journal are appropriate).

Please do let us know if there's any doubts about this!

Best wishes,

Olaya

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue. (Privacy Policy)