Jump to content
Home
Forum
Join Us
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

How to delete and restore observations


JoeTapestrySupport
 Share

Recommended Posts

 

This tutorial explains how to delete observations and also how to restore observations after you have deleted them. It's possible to delete observations through the app and browser version of Tapestry (this tutorial will show you how to do both), and you can restore observations on the browser version and new versions of the app, but it's not possible to do this on the original app.

In this tutorial the screenshots of the app I will show you are from the new version of the iOS app, which is a separate app to the original one. This article talks you through some of the new features of the new iOS app and how to download it and this one explains this for the new Android app. 

Please note that while staff members might have the ability to delete observations, depending on how you have set your user permissions, only Manager accounts may restore or permanently delete observations. A manager on your account can check how you have your permissions set by following this tutorial.

To skip to the relevant section please use the links below.

 

1. How to delete observations from Tapestry

                    a. Browser

                    b. App

2. How to restore or permanently delete an observation

                    a. Browser

                    b. App

 

Let's get started by looking at how to delete observations.

 

How to delete observations from Tapestry

Firstly, I'll show you how to do this on the browser version of Tapestry.

To skip to the section on deleting observations using the app, click here.

 

Browser

To do this on the browser you will need to go to the main observations page (1); if you just want to delete a singular observation you need to click the cog icon by the observation you want to delete (2) and then select 'Delete' from the drop-down menu (3). Once you select this you will get a pop-up just confirm that you want to proceed with the deletion, if you want to, you'll just need to select the 'delete' button.

 

1.png

 

The observation will be temporarily visible on the observation page as 'deleted' until you refresh the screen or navigate elsewhere in Tapestry. You can use this opportunity to restore the observation by clicking the cog icon by it (1) and selecting restore (2). Don't worry if you miss this, as the observation is still restorable, you can see further down in this tutorial how to do this.

 

2019-04-09_14-33-52.png

 

If you have several observations you want to delete, you can also do this in bulk by selecting the observations you want to delete from the tick boxes at the end of the rows of the observations (1) and then from the pop-up box in the bottom right-hand corner, select 'Delete' (2) and press 'Go' (3).

 

Screenshot_20190206-122107.png.4bbb24cee8b75996229d53c034146480.png

 

 

App

If you are on the app version of Tapestry and want to delete an observation from there, you can do this by selecting the observation you want to delete (1) and then clicking on the 'Edit' button in the bottom right-hand corner (2). 

 

image8.png

 

Then at the bottom of the screen, you just need to select the 'Delete this Observation' option. 

 

image7.png

 

You can then keep editing the observation if this was hit in error (1) or you can proceed by selecting the 'Delete' option (2). 

 

image6.png

 

 

How to restore or permanently delete an observation

Next we'll look at how to restore or permanently delete observations using the browser.

To skip to the section on restoring deleted observations using the app, click here.

 

Browser

Deleted observations are kept in a hidden area of Tapestry which only a Manager account can view, they are not permanently deleted unless a Manager chooses to do so. To view your deleted observations, you need to set your page filters on the observation page to show Observation Status: Deleted. To do this you just need to click where it says 'Filter & Sort Observations' at the top of the Observations page. 

 

3.png

 

From the page filters pop-up you will need to select 'Deleted' from the 'Observations Status' drop-down (1); if you want to remove any of the other status filters, you can just press the 'x' button for each filter (2). Then just press 'Submit' (3). 

 

Untitled.png

 

In your deleted section you can either restore or permanently delete your deleted observations. Please make sure you only permanently delete them if you are sure you definitely don't want to keep them. THIS IS A PERMANENT DELETION.

To restore or permanently delete an observation you just need to click on the cog button at the end of the row of the observation (1) and then either select 'Restore' or 'Permanently Delete' (2), depending on what action you want to take. Just as you can delete observations in bulk, you can also restore or permanently delete them in bulk. This is done in the exact same way, you just need to select the ones you want to restore or permanently delete from the tick boxes and then select the appropriate action from the pop-up box in the bottom right-hand corner and press go. 

Please note that if you restore an observation, it is restored as 'not in journal', so relatives will not be able to see it. 

 

2018-04-04_12-27-09.png

 

Once you restore or permanently delete an observation you will see it removed from this page. Don't forget when you are done to reset your page filters to default so you can see your normal observations, you can do this just by clicking where it says 'Reset filters' under the page filters button at the top of the page.

4.png

 

 

App

It's not possible to permanently delete observations on the app, but to restore one, like on the browser version, you will firstly need to filter your observations to see ones that are deleted. To do this you just need to select where it says 'No filters' at the bottom of the list of observations. 

 

Image-1.jpg

 

Then from the page filters, you will need to select the 'Observation Status' option. 

 

image5.png

 

Here you can decide which observation statuses you see, but you will need to have the 'Deleted' one ticked (1). When you're finished, just select 'Done' (2).

 

image4.png

 

Now that you can see your deleted observations, you'll just need to find the one you restore and tap on it from the list (1). Once you have done that, you just need to select 'Un-delete' in the bottom left-hand corner (2). 

 

image2.png

 

Once you've done this you will see the status of the observation changes from deleted to 'not in journal' (1). 

If you no longer want to see deleted observations, you can clear your page filters by clicking on the filters link at the bottom of the list of observations (2). 

 

image2 (1).png

 

Then at the top you can just select 'No filters' if you just want to be able to see all your observations again. 

 

tyer.png

 

 

 

Go back to Main Tutorials Page

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue. (Privacy Policy)