Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Tracking From Freception To Yr 1

Please please can anyone help .I am FS coordinator in a first schol and until this half term everyone levels one piece of chns writing against the P scales every half term.I know the P scales are not right for Reception so I have suggested we use the FS profile strand for writing to show where the children are .However of course the scales are not meant to be used to assess one piece of writing so it cant be used in the way the P scales are and the lit coordinator wants a numerical score that we can use to track progress across school.I feel like Im going around in circles and even though Ive been doing this job for 25 years Im beginning to doubt myself.Would anyone be willing to share how they collect writing /reading assessments that can be put on the school network to track chns progress.Hope Ive explained that properly but Im begining to stress out a bit ..Thanks in anticipation

I use my own skills ladder which combines the p scales with the foundation stage stepping stones. Then i collect a piece of work a term and highlight which elements they are reaching.

I use my own skills ladder which combines the p scales with the foundation stage stepping stones. Then i collect a piece of work a term and highlight which elements they are reaching.

47975[/snapback]

purplecat thank you so much for your prompt answer Would you be able to post a copy of your skills ladder for me to look at ,if you dont mind it would really give me some ideas for our school.

Crestacat

Hi Crestacat,

we have had a similar problem and used the Rosamund Wilson (think I've got that wrong) assessment scales in line with rest of school. However, we feel it is another thing that is a complete waste of time. WE ALREADY HAVE OUR OWN ASSESSMENT - THE PROFILE. Why make work for ourselves?