Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Home Visits

I am a nursery teacher in a large primary school. Every year my TA and I make home visits to 52 children in the first 2 weeks of September before we start to welcome children in. The benefits of visiting children are extremely valuable but I feel they are at risk of ceasing. This is because as from this April nursery classes I believe, are required to be open for 38 weeks of the year in line with main school. Our head is going to pose this question at the next Headteachers' conference but as yet the nursery teachers I have all spoken to have no idea how we can be open from the beginning of September and make home visits. Any ideas or ways around this please! :oxD

Hi Sarah, I can see your predicament. I am also in a nursery in a large primary. We take only one week to do our visist but we have more staff and because we are full time, we can do visits in the afternoons when the children first start, they only come in the morning. Im assuming from your staffing that you are 52 FTE and actually take 26 am and 26 pm? Thats a lot of visits.

We have no intention of changing our admissions at this moment, we stagger our intake so some chidlren dont start until the end of September and we've not had any complaints about that as yet.

Im afraid I dont have any real answers for you except to fight to be able to continue your visits, I find as you do, they are absolutely crucial for the settling in of our chidlren and I would hate to not be able to do them.

perhaps one of our other members will have some answers fro you?

I don't know if Nursery's attached to primary's have the same funding rules as we do in preschool. Yes, we will have to offer 38 weeks but it is still only 2.5 hrs per day for funded children.