Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Phonics

Guest Cath

Hi! I'm just wondering if anyone can give me ideas on the best way/order to introduce letters to children in the foundation stage (I am a Reception teacher in a Foundation Satge Unit). This is my 4th year of teaching Reception now and I have introduced the letters in so many different ways that I've started to coinfuse myself!

In my first year I focused on 1 letter a week. The children from the Nursery had learnt LetterLand and I did feel as though I was 'weaning them off it' as some children (as I have read other teachers on this site have found just associate the letter with the characters' name not the sound it makes). I then went onto introducing 5 letters a week-one a day (as I read so many articles about 'faster phonics')

Both Nursery and Reception have started following 'Jolly Phonics' but I must admit, if taught properly, Letterland can still be beneficial as the child really does remember the grapheme so it helps with writing.

Basically, I would like to know how many letters a week other teachers introduce and the ORDER in which they teach them-alphabetical/shape-eg all curly ones/order as suggested in Jolly Phonics.

Maybe I worry too much?! At the end of the day it is all about the children having fun while they learn isn't it?

Hi Cath and welcome on board. Phonics is not my real strength so you will get more sensible advice from others. We use Jolly Phonics but not in nursery. By the way, you say you work in a unit- how long have you been wotrking that way and do you prefer it?

Hi Mundia,