Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Letter Families

Hi guys,

I am wondering what others do as I have been teaching the letter order of Jolly phonics for many years now and fancy a change. I want to start with the cursive letters c,a ,o ,g ,d but what order/ groups do you guys do after this?

I look forward to your pearls of wisdom!

Mottie x :)

Hi guys,

I am wondering what others do as I have been teaching the letter order of Jolly phonics for many years now and fancy a change. I want to start with the cursive letters c,a ,o ,g ,d  but what order/ groups do you guys do after this?

45204[/snapback]

I am part of a pilot programme and we have been asked to do it a slightly different order to jolly phonics. the idea is that after the first group is taught you can blend and segment. Cant remember the order but will post tomorrow.

I would also include s and q in that group of letters :)

I don't think it matters in what order you teach the letter groups, so long as the children are familiar with them (ie recognise the symbols).

I like to teach the "one armed robot" letters r, n, m next and then the "long ladder" letters l, t, k, h, f, b. The final few letters are a bit random, v,w,x,z; i, u, y, j, p, e.

I'm sure others will have their own system :D

As I said yesterday our school is part of a pilot project looking at the teaching of phonics across the country. The emphasis is very much on learning the phonemes then using and applying as soon as possible. The order given is

smctgpao

rdbfhiu

vwyzjnke

ll ss ff zz

sh ch th wh

ck ng qu x

You blend and segment as soon as possible, look at ways of introducing shared and guided reading and writing but at an appropriate level. Then you look at how to encourage the children to use the skills throughout the curriculum.

Its been a bit speedy but so far we are enjoying it - both staff and children

Pilot is called Early Reading Development Pilot.

Guest tinkerbell

Josi