Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Foundation Stage Unit

Hi

I wondered if anyone could offer me some advice. I work as an F2 teacher and next years cohort are a challenging bunch with a few children with SEN and others who are still developmentally immature. As a school we having been discussing integrating the Reception and Nursery and working as a unit with shared provision. We currently run F1 and F2 separately. We have 2 Reception classrooms, a large outdoor area and small shared creative area that come from a large open nursery area.

If we were to change how we run the FS unit next year what things would we need to consider? Does anyone already do this and could offer some advice? How would we plan and ensure progress for the F2 children?

Sorry finding it hard to imagine the logistics, hoping to visit a school running with nursery and reception together in the next few weeks. I have never worked in this way and we are due Ofsted any time so need to get our provision right.

Any advice or ideas would be very gratefully received!

Thank you Little Miss Giggles x

if you have early starters in nursery i would not recommend it! as that would be three age groups in one unit. do you have 1 or 2 reception classes? if 2 then you could split children to make an equal number of children with additional needs in each and PSE delayed in each. they sound like my current lot in nursery!! luckily for our reception there will be 2 classes of 17 with a teacher in each, but i have 1 class of 37! and 1 teacher..... my daughter is a reception TA and they operated as a unit but have gone to separate classes as the teachers can't agree on things!! so make sure you are both 'singing from the same hymn sheet' and have a shared vision if you do go for it ....