Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nativity Script Needed

Hi

I'm new to this and am so far loving it... lots of helpful ideas and it's really good to have somewhere to discuss issues to do with the FS, as at my school the early years (especially nursery) are rather overlooked.

Anyway, I haven't got a problem as such but am feeling rather uninspired about the prospect of putting on a performance of the nativity with my nursery class. Has anyone got a good script with nice songs and not too much 'acting' required or any ideas of how to make it simple but lovely?

Thanks

Kate

Hi Kitbush! Welcome, this is a great site I am sure you will love it.

I teach in a nursery in a school and sometimes feel we are overlooked or not seen really as all that important. (79 place nursery)

I have decided for my first time doing a xmas 'performace' kind of thing, to just do songs linked to different aspects of xmas time.

I am using the xmas songs book from'out of the ark music' as my basis. (Some lovely songs in there. )

We are going to learn the songs and base activities linked to them, then some of the children will wear hats we will make or hold things that we have made linked to the song or play percussion intruments to some of the songs. I have not gone for a full on nativity because I wouldn't to try a different approach and try and base activities/creative work around them.

Hope that makes sense. Sorry if it isn't any use.

Nina

I'm tempted by that idea, especially as so many of the children speak English as their second language, songs may be the safer option.

Yes, it's a great site - am already feeling so much better about what I do when I see other people are doing similar things and having similar problems!

Thanks !

Kate

Hi Kate

I'm using out of the ark material this year for reception class but could easily be adapted for nursery.

The songs are easy to learn and the narration can be done by an adult.

Would recommend 'Its a baby'