Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Outdoor Play

Guest Really

Hi

I am a PGCE student teaching Reception.

What works really well in outdoor play that is numeracy related?

Any ideas would be gratefully received!

Thanks.

I set up a school bus with seats and a bus stop. One child dressed up as the bus driver and the other children waited at the bus stop. The children were learning about adding 1 more. Each time the bus stopped 1 more passenger got on. The children loved it! You could use this idea to help the children learn about money, 1 less than etc.

Hmm, interesting question! I think that the answer is that just about anything can be taken outdoors and be numeracy related!

Planning for outdoors takes a certain thought process. The indoors needs to be linked to outdoors, so try to think sideways.

Eg, if you are doing a topic on fairytales, and read the story of Snow White, then outside you can have dressing up clothes for dwarves. Seven hats, seven pairs of boots (how many actual boots would that be?), then if you make dinner, seven plates, forks, spoons...........................

If you are looking at the colour green, then let's go outside and measure the plants with tape or rulers. Or non-standard measures, like cut out handprints.

If you are thinking about farm animals, let's go out and play with the farm set on a blanket outside, and count the sheep. Make fencing for them, and fit two animals for each field. Or put two of each animal in a boat made of the big bricks, and pretend to be Noah in his ark.

The possibilities are endless, and just take a certain way of thinking when you do your planning.