Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Antartic

Hi!

I'm not sure if i'm putting this in the correct place but i'll give it a go!

I'm a student studying PGCE early years course and i'm starting my first teaching practice in 2 weeks eeek! I'm working in a reception class and the topic is the 'Antartic'. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas and fun activities i could do? please help!!

Hello Sallie, and welcome in.

I have some stuff, but unfortunately at work, will dig it out and try to get back to you

Sue  :D

41313[/snapback]

Oh thank you! first time i've used this site so a little unsure! look forward to hearing from you.

It may be your first, but it won't be your last!!!!! :o

This place should come with a health warning - seriously addictive!! But seriously now, it's great, lots of friendly folk with lots of ideas to share and a shoulder to cry on, too, when necessary

Sue :D

Hi Sallie and welcome

I havnt dont the topic but have done lots of work on winter,ice snow etc so what about:

Desiging making clothes to keep you warm-

Making ice blocks for the childre to explore, good if you can freeze toys inside for them to dig out,

Mixing up different colour, blues, greens etc

The artist andy goldsworthy does lots of work with ice snow etc if you need some work to show the children,

Do Penguins come from Antarctic? If so you could read Cuddly Duddley, The Emperor's Egg by Martin Jenkins. The male emperor penguin is 1.3 metres tall - draw out a life size penguin and stick on a wall for chn to stand next to to see if they're taller - find things taller than/smaller than an Emperor penguin.

Number rhyme - 5 little penguins sitting on an iceberg

Far far away in the stormy sea

If one little penguin jumped into the water

SPLOSHSH

How many peguins would there be?