Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

developing mark making area

Hello all,

Through discussion with the room leader and from my observations of the area, a need to develop the mark making area has been identified. How do i go about this? I printed off a room plan because i thought i might need to track the area for more details e.g what gender use the area, what age group, how long for etc, in order to develop an effective action plan. Does this sound right? I've never done this before so am unsure how to actually record what i observe on the room plan sheet.

would appreciate any advice on this.

Thank you

One of the first things I would do is make a list of continuous provision and find a way of setting it out on the area for she, then look at your children's interests and use it to lead your enhanced provision choices.

Hi I would firstly look in depth in the positives of your mark making already in place. Then I would look at how you can provide enhancements to this.

I like to think of mark making as a moveable and transportable experience for our children, and to offer opportunities for all children to make marks where ever they may have chosen to play, both indoors and outdoors.

So this could be in sand, playdough, gloop, paint, glue, mud, pens, pencils, crayons, chalks, etch and sketch, as well as on the floor on large sheets of paper, easels indoors and outside. We have lots of store caddies for this to happen easily, as well as a mark making trolley for free choice.

The group of children we have presently love envelopes, notepads, clipboards, small chalk boards.

There was a great booklet called " Mark Making Matters" think it was a D of E publication that has some great ideas that might help you with this.:)

• Like 1

Thank you for your replies.