Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Advice needed from experienced NQT Mentor

Hello I was just wondering if anyone could offer any advice? Last term we employed a teacher temporarily to cover the Easter Term (until someone comes back after maternity leave). During interview the teacher stated that she needed to finish off her last term of her NQT year and would the school support her. My head asked me to mentor her as I have a lot of experience mentoring trainee teachers etc so I agreed. I got her file ready etc and at our first meeting discovered that the situation was a bit more complex than expected! She completed her first two terms of her NQT year 3 years ago?! And has been working for a supply agency ever since. My head contacted somebody from the LA who deals with NQTs to check that this was okay (and it was) and then we carried on from there. The problem is after her first half term with us there have been significant problems with her teaching, classroom management etc. I check and support her with paper work and assessment weekly so that's okay, but in terms of everything else I think she may be a cause for concern. I have done lesson observations and arranged for her to observe experienced teachers and even sent her to other schools to observe, we have weekly meetings and I see her every night after school to see how her days been. I just feel like I am giving her all I can but there doesn't seem to be any improvement. She is very aware about her targets and what she needs to do to achieve them- but is still struggling. I think I need to get somebody from the LA to come in and observe/support, as I am worried she might fail and I really don't want her too!! Has anybody been in a similar situation? If so what is the process for cause for concern NQTs?

Lumpty x

You need to be flagging this up to the "appropriate body", which is probably the LA. The NQT induction manager will know all the legalities around this.