Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Confrontations with staff

I am a manager of a small private Nursery and have had an awful time with staff last term. One teacher has been with me for a few years and the other is more recent. The new member and I have had considerable problems and i will always remember her saying early on "I will challenge you!" I do find managing quite difficult I admit but often struggle to express myself when confronted and have sometimes walked of to calm down! I have decided its better to be purely professional in relationships at work and to keep calm, but this seemed to wind this person up even more! The other member of staff seemed to gang up with this girl, they say 3's a crowd!? I admit to having high standards but am always very hands-on and certainly do more than I need to! I have had the support of senoir management all along and have been at the school for 13 years! Its to long winded to go into details of what happened but was wondering if anyone had any advice or examples of conflict as a manager and how they dealt with it? :huh:

Hiya,

I was an owner manager for 15 years and since then a manager so confrontation with staff is not new! Some basic tips

Get people on their own. Tell the most challenging you want a meeting with her if any future situations arise. Prepare notes of what you want to say- imagine the conversation and be prepared! But don't give her much warning!

Without knowing the details it's hard to advise, but it's your job to stay calm and professional and keep disagreements out of children's earshot.

Take notes after any meeting.

Walking away in the heat of the moment is good! But always come back later and say you need to speak privately.

I made some silly mistakes along the way dealing with staff, it's a learning curve!

Gives a room full of 3 yr olds on my own over 'challenging' staff any day!!!

Good luck

:)