Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New Level 5 qualification

Guest sn0wdr0p

Guest sn0wdr0p

I think we are all in a state of limbo at the moment following recent reviews of qualification.. I have a degree in an unrelated subject and level 4 in childcare and intended to do my EYPS last year but after reading the Nutbrown review decided to wait and see what happens. The EYT is an option but as owner and manager of my setting I wanted to take a qualification more tailored to my needs and employ an EYT for working directly with the children. (I do spend a lot of time working with the children but am often pulled away by other responsibilities) but would have to undertake my maths and science GCSEs - they were O levels in my day. The existing level 5 City and Guilds qualification in Leadership in Health and Social Care and Children and Young Peoples Services was not specific enough either however there is now a new level 5 in response to the Nutbrown Review concerns The City and Guilds Level 5 Diploma in Leadership for the Children and Young People’s Workforce - Early Years (QCF) which has two pathways Management or Advanced Practice. You can take one pathway then 'top up' to do the other pathway as well. This seems ideal for me as I can then do the BA Top Up.

I have spent a year dithering over what to do and would welcome all your thoughts and opinions and would also like to know if any of you know anything about this new qualification.

There was an article about it in this weeks Nursery World I think ? It costs about £1,700 but can't recall the name of the company who were advertising it . Not much use really - might be worth googling it or Nursery World?

Yes I read about this in last weeks nursery world.

Those who sign up with PBD by 31 March 2013 will get a £300 discount on the price of £1,750.

It appears to be for managers/deputy's. The units looks very relevant to my everyday practice so I am very interested.

Guest sn0wdr0p