Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

How often do you track?!

I work in a school nursery and am becoming embroiled in a somewhat heated debate!!

We do focused obs on each key child each half term and also day to day notes. The teacher puts the notes into the children's records during her PPA updates the records and LJs. Each half term she tracks the progress and collates data to reflect this.Our reception class however are only collating data 3 times a year- baseline, mid year and year end. They apparently update records more often ( not convinced this is true!) but only collect the % below, in line and above 3 times.

We are now under pressure to reduce our data tracking and are being told 3 times is good practice in EYFS. We feel strongly we have an excellent grasp of where each child is. Our head says we shouldn't need data for this ( and to be frank we don't), but to update records only 3 times a year would be a massive job.

I am not sure if I'm missing something here but can't find anything to suggest a 'right and wrong'.

What's everyone else doing?!

my staff track data as they keywork, we input data only 3 times a year

onto a tracker. I think a tracker is to show progress and plotting more frequently would really show this.

My staff know where their children are and write for their own benefit in the childrens LJ

I think you should do what is right for you. If your tracking regime is working then why change it?

I would have thought good practise was to have an accurate assessment of your children, which you feel your system allows. In my last school we had to update our assessments through FS and KS1 every half term.