Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Qualified Teachers In Children's Centres

I am a qualified teacher appointed at the beginning of term to work in a Children's Centre. My role is still being developed and I would be interested to hear how teachers are working in other centres. At the moment the main role seems to be easing transition through the settings from 0 to 5. I would appreciate feedback from any practioner working in a Children's Centre as my role until now has been in a school foundation stage unit.

Guest alisonjayne

Hello and welcome from me too, sorry I cant help you as I work primarily with 3 to 5 yr olds, I am sure there will be someone to offer you support advice etc.

Ali

Hi Denise,

Your question is so relevant to me at the moment! I run my own nursery, but have just taken on a six-month contract to work as the Foundation Stage teacher in a Children's Centre nursery. Unfortunately the nursery received an "inadequate" Ofsted result in June, and I've been appointed to work with the manager and staff to improve the provision.

My work really has been to put into place a series of weekly training sessions on the FS, to set up an observation, planning and recording system and to train staff in its use, to audit the equipment (or rather, lack of it!) and place orders for resources across the six areas of learning, and to help staff start and maintain children's records. The other half of the role is to do with observing the staff at work and giving feedback on their practice, and this is something that a colleague takes responsibility for, as there are not enough hours in the week for me to do that!

Last week, I attended a course run by Early Education specifically for teachers attached to Children's Centres. It was really disappointing and I learned nothing new; the day was spent with people saying they didn't know what was expected of them :o I had thought the course was going to give me lots of inspiration to manage change, etc.