Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery Reports

Just finishing off nursery reports for children going onto school, does anyone actually find these useful? Do they ever make it into the teachers hands? Or do they stay in some file at the back of the office......always wondered.

We are situated on a school site and I am also a TA in the reception class once a week. I know the reception teacher and her classroom assistant read the reports I give to her and she says they are useful, especially as we indicate what stepping stone the child is working in at the time they leave us.

I have heard of other reception teachers in different schools who do not read the reports.

Carol

Edited by Carol

Just finishing off nursery reports for children going onto school, does anyone actually find these useful? Do they ever make it into the teachers hands? Or do they stay in some file at the back of the office......always wondered.

36502[/snapback]

As a reception teacher I am always grateful for any information from a child's previous setting. Usually I get the chance to read these over the summer holidays. Its much more difficult when I get new children with no infomation and have to start totally from scratch to assess their needs.

So thank you on behalf of all reception teacher's. We appreciate your efforts.

I also teach in Reception and make a point of reading all the children's reports. Sometimes if they are sent via post they do not always reach my hands and are filed straight into the children's assessment folders which are kept in the office.