Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Diaries

Hi,

Can anyone help? I'm a Foundation Stage Two teacher and I want to further develop links with school and home as I feel my children would do a lot better with support from home. Does anyone know of a company that sell books/diaries that provide parents with knowledge of the FS and also is a diaries for home reading or reporting to parents or have I thought of something radically new and made my first Million?!

Any help appreciated.

Claire

I am not a teacher but as supervisor of a pre-school have been using home-link diaries for 5 years with great success. I use an exercise book. Each term I put a brief plan of the intended learning and how we plan to do it with suggested activities to do at home. Parents write news in to record activities that their chld has done at home so we can prompt the children if necessary when they sit down their keyworkers.

I found this but one can not have a good close-up look:

http://www.synergy-group.co.uk/parent.html

Homework Diaries

Designed for children, parents and teachers to communicate their thoughts on shared home work activities. The shared activities could be games, puzzles, number practice, learning by heart or information gathering. These diaries can be used for all subjects.

PHD001

Pictorial Homework Diaries,

Pack of 35

Special Offer Price: Were £15.95 Now £7.50

THD002

Text Homework Diaries,

Pack of 35

Special Offer Price: Were £15.95 Now £7.50

I think anything already on the market is going to be too costly like bubblejack we devised our own. we printed off some A4 sheets with the days of the week. We used ours to communicate with parents of special needs children who had a communication disorder. The diary was drawn so the children had a pictorial representation of what they had done. Parents then drew something for us to read out at news time the following day, which the children loved, I also think it made sure children did something other than watch TV.