Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Feeling Confused About New Hours Of Work

Hi everyone, hope you can help - not sure if I have put this in an appropriate place or not, but my hours in work are about to change, and I'm feeling that I am getting a worse deal than the rest of the teachers in my school, but maybe not, Im not sure. I'm a fairly new teacher about to work full time in a nursery unit within a school. My first class will be in at 8.45 (I arrive at 8.30), and they leave at 12.15. My next class arrive at 1pm until 3.30 - I hope to go home at 4pm. Hoping to be able to take 30mins for lunch. Principal has also offered 1 day per month out of the classroom for planning time etc. Other teachers in the school seem to work until 3.50 (3.30 on a Fri). They get 15 min in morning for a break and 45 mins at lunchtime. They also get 1hr per week planning time out of their classrooms. I've read up on 1265 hours per year, but am confused about what full time weekly/daily hours should be. Also I think my 2 assistants might be getting paid for more hours than me which is very confusing. Tried to talk to my boss about it but she said the 1265 hours was very confusing,and she kept hours back for teachers for curriculum nights, IEP planning, writing reports etc. which I always did in my own time before. Not in a union but feel I should be, although my boss has always been very reasonable before, and dont think she would try to do anything which compared me less favourable to the teachers. Main problem is I am very mych out on my own. Other teachers work much same hours which dont reallly apply to nursery. Just really confused. Any help greatfully received.

1 day a month out of class for planning? Why are you not getting your 10% PPA time that you are entitled to each week? I would definitely want to bring that up!