Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help And Ideas Desperately Needed For Nursery Observation!

Hi Everyone,

I've never posted here before so hi all. I am quite new to Nursery. I previously taught in Key Stage 1 and finished my NQT year at Easter. Since then I have been covering the Nursery class until I start a permenant position with Reception in September. If I'm honest I have found it really different and quite difficult. I am being observed next week and I really need it to go well - my confidence is at rock bottom right now - but so far have not come up with any amazing ideas. The topic will be Olympics, if anyone has any great ideas for a carpet time activity and/or group activities I would love to hear them. I am so worried about this observation, I don't feel I'm a natural in Nursery at all and I just want to do the best I can.

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks in advance,

K x

Hi Karriegem does your observation have an area of learning focus e.g. CLL or a PSRN? it would help to know as then we could try to think of olympic activities related to those areas. Plus is the obs going to be for a family group session; how many children? Indoors or out?

Try not to worry...though one thing to remember is that in just a few weeks these children could well be in your own class so take time to get to really know then as much as possible in order to make that positive relationship with them. You may probably feel in a state of limbo at the moment with this only being temporary... try to make the most of the time you have. This could be seen as a real luxury - not many Reception teachers get to know there children ahead of September so look for the positive:-)

Right to business - post a little more info if you have it about the obs and I am sure there will be some really great ideas for you.