Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Numeracy / Literacy In The Mornings?

Hi everyone, i've just been reading the excellent posts about planning grids, continuous provision etc as i'm new to all this, (never find the time!!! ) but what a fabulous place to know about!!!

I'm about to overhaul reception too and would love to hear from other practitioners to see if you still have num and lit in the morning. What i currently do is myself and the TA work with a small group each and the other children do independent activities relating to the lit / num focus be it in the sand, construction, comp, painting etc. I have recently watched the transition to yr 1 dvd from fs and the chidren in both classes come in and have free play in the morning for a while, so i'm just curious to know what others do in the form of a daily timetable? Ofsted imminent!

Thanks in anticipation

Braddy

Hello and welcome! I agree it is a great site.

We have a carousel of activities activities throughout the day - a focus task with myself and a teaching assistant, and 2 other independent tasks. The focus tasks are mostltly literacy, numeracy or k & u , with the other tasks taken from other areas of learning. Hope this helps.

Hi Braddy and welcome on board.

We are also overhauling the reception routines and planning for september and yes we have free play firt thing when the children arrive. The chidlren need this and I cant think of anything worse than coming in and having to sit on the carpet whilst they wait for everyone to be there. It also gives us the oportunties to speak to parents if we need to.

We dont do lteracy and numeracy every morning, we have a differnt area of leaning focus each morning and afternoon. We dont have the benefit of full time supprot but when we do have support with us, we dont timteable both of us to a focussed activity. The other person which could be the teacher or the TA will facilitate play.