Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Medication In Pre-School

Wondering if you knowledgeable people out there can help?.........

I'm a Pre-school manager and somewhere in my grey matter think I have read/learnt/was informed that if a child requires antibiotics/penicillin administering four times a day, then they should not attend the setting.

Can anybody clarify this point or enlighten me in any way as to whether this is true.

Thank you in advance :D

if it is just for a limited time as in a course for tonilitis , the doses can be given outside of preschool times as long as they are spaced evenly. I have been told and also read this by a doctor.Therefore it should not be necessary to give whilst at preschool , secondly if they are that poorly they should not be at preschool although it is important a course of antibiotics is finished . hope that helps ;)

Thanks and your points, you just confirmed my thoughts, my question was prompted by a reaction from a parent recently when i said the same...ie too poorly...they've become quite challenging on this (the norm actually!!!) and I was hoping to get some written evidence to back me up.

I appreciate your reply :rolleyes:

It is a statement used commonly by maintained schools in my area. They request that children on a course of antibiotics be given them three times per day or they are timed for outside of school hours. The schools say most GPs are happy to oblige. I've not seen it written down anywhere in formal terms though.

Hi, I've found this in 'Managing Medicines in Schools and Early Years Settings' now archived.

Prescribed Medicines