Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Assessment In Nursery Help!

Hi,

Im a reception teacher who may be asked to teach in nursery next year. Can anyone explain the difference between assessment in reception and in nursery? Is their some kind of formal assessment at the end of the year? Do you assess against the same profile points? etc If anyone can summarise the basic differences would be much appreciated!

Thanks Louise

Next year it will all be driven by the new framework so that will guide you. however the EYFSP is the end of reception assessment. There isn't a similar one in nursery. The nurseries generally use the development matters descriptors and assess where children are in their development from observations over time.

Cx

Following on from the previous comment, we assess the children from continuous observations. In my particular setting we do 3 progress assessments a year, New Year, Easter and before Christmas. We look back over our observations and decide where abouts the children are with regards to the EYFS development matters. Other than that it is all about observations and next steps! Hope this is of some help.

Tracey

Hi everyone. Yes we are making changes in our school nursery class. We have assessed using the early profile points (as this is what our head wanted). New nursery teacher doesn't want this. But we are unsure how and what to use. Obviously will use new DM's but don't want to end up with just a tick list!!!! What to do, what to do... If anyone has any suggestions as I'm feeling that a baby and bath water situation is coming.

Edited by Guest

Hi again,

I have a template that our Early Years Consultant gave me, that we now use, that I can send to you. Just not sure how to do it on here...? Or I can e-mail it to you...?

Let me know.

Tracey

Hi again,

I have a template that our Early Years Consultant gave me, that we now use, that I can send to you. Just not sure how to do it on here...? Or I can e-mail it to you...?