Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Non-Chronological Reports

Hello all! Hope everyone is enjoying their jollies!

I am sadly not any more...ha I am a student and I have a placement in a y2 class. From next week I have to teach a unit on non-chronological reports! I was just wondering if anyone has any ideas/suggestions of how I would go about this! looking around the net has amazingly confused me about what I should be teaching and how!

Thank You all

Jayne x

Do you have any idea what they've been learning about already? Writing any kind of non-fiction text is much easier for them if they know their subject really well. So the topic they are going to be doing next term or one they've just been doing. Failing that something that tends to grab them (minibeasts always works for mine!).

Also the Developing Early Writing booklet is an older one from the days of the National Literacy Strategy but has clear explanations of what some of the different text types are and gives exemplification of how you could approach teaching them for different year groups. As with everything though - use the ideas and put your own spin on it. I tend to find there isn't enough in there or enough differentiation. You can find the DEW booklet at this link:

http://www.teachfind.com/national-strategies/developing-early-writing

Have you looked at the Pie Corbett stuff? You can teach non-fiction as well as stories using this approach, with actions for the different parts e.g. headings, sub-headings etc. My daughter is in Y2 and has just done this at school, she really loved it and came home and write reports about all sorts of things!

I agree, plan for the children to write a report based on the topic you are doing. However, be careful not to over lap with the SATs writing task if your school is doing 2009 where they have to write a non-chronological report about Night time/nocturnal animals.