Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Calculation (nursery)

I am not very good at thinking of ideas for calculation - unfortunately this is reflected in the children's learning journeys which have gaps in this area. So, I need to provide greater opportunities for the children.

I know that it is not necessary to link activities to our topic of 'Bags and boxes' but I would like to, if possible.

Does anyone have any ideas to get me started?

Anything appreciated!

And aren't I sad working on a bank holiday? xD I am on my own - my husband had to work today and there is only a week left before we're back to the normal routine - and so much to do in the meantime!

Happy New Year everyone!! :o

X

I'm in pre-school so don't know if this would be of any help, but I collected an interesting selection of little bags, gift boxes, see through felt tip cases and have a selection of objects to fit inside, lots of keyrings (Toy Story Characters), shiny pebbles, erasers, pen tops, and the children like to go through and find out how many there are in the different bags and boxes etc., they then match the amount to a number card, could you extend that idea to meet your needs? Could they have to find the right number of somethings to share amongst some teddies, so they share equally.

I don't think it sad to be working - we must take the opportunities as they arise sometimes, it will free up some time when your husband is with you to spend time with him.