Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

School Based Teacher Training

hi, I'm new at this.

I am following a school based route into teaching next year, is there anyone else out there doing the same eg GTP, RTP or SCITT? Would like to share experiences/support.

thankyou

Hi Aquarius

I have nothing to offer except my warm welcome to you on your first post!

I'm sure someone will come along with something useful to share, but in the meantime, enjoy the forum!

Maz

I followed the GTP route and am just completing my NQT year - I think this is a brilliant route into teaching, as you are in the classroom for the majority of the year. You do need to get on well with your mentor, as you build up a close relationship - I was lucky. My mentor and I now are great friends.

Any more info required, then let me know.

Hi aquarius

Just wanted to say hello and welcome to the forum.

Can you please explain GTP, RTP and SCITT for me?

Linda

hi Aquarius and welcome! :D

I am sure that once you get going there will be lots of people who can help you.

Linda, these are all school based routes into teaching although I never can remember what SCITT stands for the other 2 are Graduate and Registered Teacher.

Welcome Aquarius!

I too followed the GTP route in to teaching last year and am now doing my NQT year.

Like Chris, I found it was definitely the route for me - so much better to be 'hands on' rather than looking at the theory of it all in books and lecture theatres: you can't beat real children!! :o

It's very intense, and I would agree that a good mentor can be the making of you - mine was fantastic, both for providing general guidance and suggestions and for supporting me. I hit a big low, literally half way through the year and my mentor was great, saying all the right things and making time for me when she had so much else on her plate.

Advice: