Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

If I Was A Teacher...

trekker

..I doubt I'd ever have to put up with a parent telling me that, after 15+ years of working with preschoolers, I have the 'theoretical knowledge'...but that "people who actually have children ... know what they actually benefit from.." :oxD:( - Meaning not that parents know their child best (which I agree with) ...but that people who are parents know more about what is best for children ...

I am fuming and insulted !!!!

After 15 years of working with one age group I think I can say I have slightly more than 'theoretical knowledge' about the needs and fascinations of this age...what parent ever cared for a 3 yr old for 15 years? !!!!!

Sorry needed to rant - maybe Im over reacting but I'll burst if I dont get it out.

It always feels like people who have never been a teacher seem to know more about teaching than teachers do! Especially when it comes to things like school closures due to bad weather and that kind of thing. Apparently all teachers are lazy, get too many holidays and will find any excuse for a day off! If only all those very wise and hard working people actually knew how much work goes into teaching children and how much of the time we put in we actually get paid for!

I've been lucky enough to not have been on the receiving end of too much grief from parents but I imagine it's very frustrating. Stay strong and let it all wash over you, no point getting upset about someone else's naivety, especially not on a Friday night! :o

Oh that makes me so mad too. When I was a nanny (before I had my own) we thought exactly that - yes you may have had experience of one child but I have had experience of many children. Yes you have had a whole 3 months experience of YOUR child being 3 - I however, trained with and have subsequently worked with ooooh about 50 3 year olds!

I dread to think exactly how many 3 year olds it would be now :o