Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Parents Meetings

Hi All,

I have been trying to think of a way of meeting with Parents individually at the beginning of the year.

I am a reception class teacher in a primary school without a Nursery. I have found over the past couple of years that a 5 minute appointment in October is not long enough. This is how the rest of school work it.

The parents have so many questions and want to know how their child has settled into their new school. It would also be nice to talk to them about their child's progress and learning journey.

I hold a general meeting for parents to remind them of routines and what they can expect from the year - topics, homework, how their child learns in FS2 etc after the children have been settled a couple of weeks.

Any ideas or if anyone does this already would be brilliant to hear.

Thank you

Edited by Guest

This is probably a bit too late for this year but do you do home visits before the children start? In all the schools where I've worked that's when they answer all the questions etc. that you're talking about and it gives you a good picture of what the child is really like because they're in their own home so they's comfortable, rather than being all shy and hiding behind mum's leg like some children are when they visit school for the first time!

They're usually carried out in the first week or two, gradually bringing more children in as the visits have taken place, or in the last couple of weeks of the summer term before the summer holidays ready for sept. Both really busy times of year but I thinks it's worth giving up the time because they always seem to be successful and beneficial.

I don't meet with the parents in the following way at my school (yet!), but I did do this in my previous school.