Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ba (hons) Early Years Practice

Hi everyone

I have been dropping into this forum for a couple of years, but have not posted often. Just after a bit of advice really. I have decided to do my dissertation on the transition from reception to year one as I am involved in both classes. I have thought of looking at play and how it can help to ease the transition, and the case for continuing the eyfs into yr1 but am unsure as to which angle to take after that.....any advice or other ideas greatly appreciated!! Thanks

Lou :o

There's a lot of information about transitions floating about at the moment, and I think this would be an interesting area to study. If you were going to look at the role of play in easing transitions, would you need to be able to compare and contrast the different approaches taken by schools (ie play based and non-play based) or would you just concentrate on one setting showing how they adopt a successful play-based approach.

I'd really like to do a comparison of children who are going into reception classes age 4 and those who are going in aged nearly 5. :o

Thanks for your reply...I was thinking of comparing the oldest children in the class against the youngest to see if the younger ones dealt less well with the transition, hence strengthening the case for a play based approach?!?! Not sure if that makes sense!

Am also interested in looking at the issue of transition from the parents point of view...did they feel as informed about this transition compared to the transition into reception, would they like more info etc .... hopefully if they said they wanted more info, I would then be able to tie this in. My thinking is that if the parents feel fully informed, then they are more able to guide and reassure their children through the process, therefore helping the transition from their end as well.