Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Area Challenges

Hey, I am new to KS1 so bare with me if this question is an annoying one :)

Just wondering if anyone had any example challenges for:

1. Writing Area

2. Construction Area

3. Creative Area

Thanks in advance :)

p.s. where has the 6 weeks hols gone :o

Hi there,

I'm not sure about KS1 challenges as that curriculum is not my forte but I can give you a couple of examples of what I do in Reception. The challenges always start with the next steps that have been identified for the children.

For the creative area - to support the children's targets of CD2 (creating simple representations of events, people...) and CD5 (exploring colour, texture ...) I set the challenge of "Can you show me who is in your family?" the children are then encouraged to select any of the materials in the creative area to complete this challenge - they may want to paint, create a collage, or construct using junk. Sensitive adult intervention can develop valuable language skills here.

For the writing area - to support W1, 2, 3 & 4 (and more if the child is able) I set the challenge of the children telling me about themselves supported with laminated photographs of themselves to write on. Adults support, praise and challenge each child further based on what they show us they can independently do.

These challenges are written on cards for each area, the cards also contain some key vocabulary, questions and observations to share with the children (e.g. if you see the children being successful at using scissors safely) to guide the practise of any adults within the class.

The challenges are refreshed either weekly or bi-weekly to ensure they continue to move the children's learning forwards.

Hope this helps

Hope this helps