Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New To Year 1

Hi i hope some of you can help me! i am starting a new job in September, in a year 1 class. It is only a small school and so i am going to be the only teacher. I just wondered how you do some things in year 1 such as fitting in guided reading and hearing individual readers? Also continuous provision - does this work in year 1 and how do you set it up?

Any ideas for topics would be fab, i am completely new to KS1 as i have been working in nursery for the past year!

I have no ideas from the previous teacher as she took early retirement at Christmas last year and they have had supply in ever since :o

Thank you in advance, hope someone can help me!

xx

In our school we 'do readers' as follows.

Every child reads twice a week - heard once by the teacher, once by another adult (usually a TA if there is one)

We hear them read at lunchtime - infants finish for lunch 25 minutes before the juniors and this is our reading slot.

One of these twice weekly reads is a guided reading session. We alternate weeks as to whether it is a teacher or TA who leads this.

Not really sure I can help on the continuous provision question - I have a mixed YR/1 class so it's all set up anyway.

Topics - I have topics to ensure I cover Y1 National Curriculum objectives but then have some time 'free' each term when I can do child interest topics to make sure I'm following good EY practice too.

My current topics for next year are:

Ourselves (emphasis on family history)

Celebrations (ties into our RE unit and will include work on light and sound for science)

Caves (links to Bear hunt and cave men)

Castles (getting some science materials in here and possibly Richard the Lionheart)

Plants and animals (ticks science boxes and will involve a trip to a local nature reserve so bit of geography local study in there too)

Olympics (will do some comparison of the 1948/2012 Olympics) to tick some history objectives)

Hope that helps