Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Foundation Stage Profiles

Hi All,

I haven't been on for a while but wondered if I could pick your brains?

I am coming to the end of my first year teaching Reception and I would like to change the way I complete profiles for next year. We currently have A4 books and use the LA grids with development matters and profile points to highlight and then add evidence for each area. However as I approach the end of the year, some children have lots more evidence than others and some books have empty pages! I feel there must be a better more efficient way to complete them and would welcome any advice.

Thank you

Hi, I'm still learning and am at the end of my 2nd year this year.

I currently have blank books with the profile grid in the front and put in observations on stickers/photographs etc at the end of every half term.

In the classroom I have lots of pockets on the inside of my cupboard door each pocket has a childs name on. As we gather obs etc through the term we put them into the childs pocket. Then we can see at a glance who is struggling for obs.

When I transfer them into the books during the holidays i can see any areas/children that are lacking. I then put this up on our planning board so that we are reminded to 'look' for obs for these.

In the book each observation is numbered and this number is written onto the grid at the front as it occures. (so the evidece is in date order not areas)

(If something has come up on an observation that needs extending/reinforcing/investigating then this goes onto the planning sheet for the next week. )

Was individually externally moderated this year and moderator was very happy with the amount of evidence i had collected (which is less than other schools where I have received children from this year) and the knowledge that I had.

Don't know if that helps but it works for me.

Also try a forum search because this has been discussed not too long ago I think.

Lucie x