Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Evaluating Reading Scheme

There is a reading test who's name I have forgotten - not so much help.

When I worked as a TA, we got a new programme, and we tested children's reading age before and then at intervals. All made more months progress than the time that had passed, some huge jumps forward. We didn't have a control though or a comparison against another scheme.

I'm not sure that scheme makes for all the impact - quality of reading/phonics teaching and children's engagement with reading can make a huge difference! Any scheme will work I reckon as long as there's QFT in place too and lots of opps to apply in different contexts.

How would you factor for other differentials in this??

Cx

I'm not sure that scheme makes for all the impact - quality of reading/phonics teaching and children's engagement with reading can make a huge difference! Any scheme will work I reckon as long as there's QFT in place too and lots of opps to apply in different contexts.

How would you factor for other differentials in this??

Cx

This question was fired at me and I really didn't have any measurabe evidence just plenty of unmeasurable stuff. There is an all wales reading survey that may help.

Thanks

Guest LornaW

YoJoJo I do agree with Catma it is not so much the reading scheme that makes the difference to children's learning to read but the way they are taught, attitudes of the teachers and TAs and the involvment of the home learning environment.

I haven't read the All Wales report but I am very very long in the tooth and have taught children to read over the years using a variety of schemes and real books!

Over the last few years I have been very heavily invovled in training teachers and schools in Letters and Sounds and I know that when teacher knowledge is secure in the process then children make progress.