Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help!

I am currently a nursery manager; part of a chain. I love the nursery and the staff, it was a new nursery when I was appointed and new have nurtured each other and grown together and are a very strong and close team. Alot of money has recently been invested in the nurseries and occupancy is on the up.

As a chain we have recently inherited a training side to the business; I am quite passionate about training and I told my line manager that if there was an opportunity for me to move across to the training side of things I would love to. We have a kind of love/hate relationship but we are professional. I was told at a recent meeting that she has "trainers coming out of her ears", in other words there's no chance for you to move (though she never actually said those words!!!).

Round this time a Manager's job came up, a smaller nursery, less staff, less hours, more money. An independent nursery run by a committee. I applied for the position, have been shortlisted and I go for an interview next week. I have spent a morning in the setting and whilst I saw some good practice it does need money spending on it to bring it where I think it should be; they are due Ofsted (haven't been inspected since 2007 so pre-EYFS) any day now I guess.

I have told my line manager that I have an interview (had to as they wanted references to help with the short listing) and she went mad, saying I was copping out, giving up etc, she then said that I had to go through the process but would worry about my state of mind if I didnt get it. She did agree that yes I do have alot to offer and would be good at training but...........

My main reason for going for the job is (a) there's nowhere for me to progress in the current nursery chain I work for, not even to training it would seem (:o if I am destined to be a nursery manager for the rest of my life then why not do it in a smaller nursery for more money?

The quandries I have are these;